Chichen Itza, Mexico

Chichen Itza Chosen as One of the New Seven Wonders of the World

Chichen Itza. Activate Flash plugin or Javascript and reload to view the New Seven Wonders Map.

Instruction: Hover over any red or blue icon to view detail. Click on any red or blue icon to "zoom in". Use the Zoom (+ and -) and the Arrow buttons to move around the map. You can also "zoom in" a region on the map by click and drag a box with your mouse.



Video: Machu Picchu and the Incas. See the Geometry of the Incas.

Video: The announcement

Ranking as of June 7, 2007

Ranking as of May 7, 2007

Video: New 7 Wonders Finalists

Video: Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

Ranking as of March 15, 2007

Ranking as of January 15, 2007

America's Greatest Golf Courses



The World has Voted for the New 7 Wonders !
Saturday, July 07, 2007. Source New7Wonders Foundation

See: The announcement

Chichen Itza Chosen as One of the New Seven Wonders of the World

The list of new world wonders includes The Great Wall of China, Petra, Christ the Redeemer, Machu Picchu, The Colisseum, and Taj Mahal.

The Mayan city of Chichen Itza, located in the Mexican state of Yucatan, was chosen as one of the “Seven New Wonders of the World” by approximately 100 million people around the globe, who cast their ballots by phone and Internet.

“The selection of Chichen Itza is recognition of the extremely vast and ancient historical and cultural heritage of Mexico, of which very few countries in the world can boast,” said Francisco Lopez Mena, CEO of the Mexico Tourism Board.

The announcement of Chichen Itza’s selection by the New7Wonders Foundation was made during a spectacular ceremony at Lisbon’s Stadium of Light.

The archaeological center of Chichen Itza, the most important Maya capital at the end of the classic period (750 to 1200 A.D.), was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1988.

Chichen Itza, which in the Mayan language means “at the mouth of the well of the Itza,” was one of the most important Mayan political, commercial and religious centers of the classic period, but it fell into decline after the emergence of Mayapan as the new focal point of regional power in the Yucatan Peninsula.

The city is home to several buildings that are remarkable both for their architectural design and their religious and scientific significance. Among these are the Temple of Kukulkan (Feathered Serpent), the Observatory, the Temple of the Warriors and the Sacred Cenote (Well of Sacrifice).

The Temple of Kukulkan, one of the tallest and most notable structures in Mayan architecture sits on a 55.5-meter wide rectangular platform and rises to a height of 24 meters. Each of its four sides has 91 steps and the platform that crowns the pyramid is considered the 365th step, meaning there is one for each day of the solar calendar.

During the spring and fall equinox (March and September), visitors can enjoy a breathtaking spectacle: a corner of the Temple of Kukulkan casts a shadow in the shape of a giant “feathered serpent” that appears to slither its way down the side of the North staircase with the sun’s movement. This natural phenomenon of light and shadow is a unique experience that attracts visitors from all parts of the world.

The Observatory, also known as “El Caracol” (The Snail) for its stone spiral interior staircase, is a cylindrical building with a dome that was used as an astronomical observatory, with its doors aligned to view the spring equinox, the declinations of the Moon and other astronomical events that helped determine the complex but extremely exact Mayan calendar.

Other popular sites at Chichen Itza are the Great Ballcourt – which, measuring 168 meters long and 70 meters wide, is the largest that has been discovered in the region known as Mesoamerica – and the Sacred Cenote, a large sinkhole 60 meters in diameter from which great treasures have been recovered: rings, necklaces and objects of gold and jade.

Thanks to all the people who voted, Chichen Itza today is a new wonder of the world, considered an icon of universal importance for humanity. As a result of this global and democratic selection process, the world will know Mexico for one of its 173 archaeological jewels, tangible evidence of the plurality and ethnic richness of the country’s past.

They invite the world to visit and enjoy this impressive treasure, a symbol of the archaeological wealth of the Mayan world.

Source: Mexico Tourism Board, Erick Laseca


The 20 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World, alphabetically:

  1. Acropolis, Athens, Greece

  2. Alhambra, Granada, Spain

  3. Angkor, Cambodia

  4. Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico

  5. Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  6. Colosseum, Rome, Italy

  7. Easter Island Statues, Chile

  8. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

  9. Great Wall, China

  10. Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey

  11. Kiyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

  12. Kremlin/St.Basil's, Moscow, Russia

  13. Machu Picchu, Peru

  14. Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany

  15. Petra, Jordan

  16. Statue of Liberty, New York, USA

  17. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom

  18. Sydney Opera House, Australia

  19. Taj Mahal, Agra, India

  20. Timbuktu, Mali



Home | New 7 Wonders | Email

Last updated: July 30, 2007